Technology + Globalization = International Business Etiquette at our finger tips.

Erikah Vilceus
Culture Clashing
Published in
2 min readSep 24, 2018

Now in days with the technology we have available today we are able to do our own research on topics. As an international business major I haven’t began my classes focused on the topic of international business. However, grateful for the technology at my fingertips, I am able to do the research on my own.

Not only am I able to do the research but I am able to substitute it within my daily schedule.

I found myself too often opening up my Instagram and Snapchat app and I wondered what would happen if I allocated that time to learning something a little more useful.

Here are 4apps that you could use as a substitution that will increase your knowledge of international business etiquette.

  1. flagGame

There are about 200 flags around the world. This game is an enjoyable and entertaining way to identify which flags with their respective countries. It is very important to know about the party your doing business with’s respective culture.

2. Dualingo

Whether you are a beginner, intermediate or advanced speaker this app will allow you to learn another language at your own pace. The app also provides different language. When doing business in other companies although English is the most used language, knowing a few phrases of another parties primary language will go a long way.

3. BBC News

Know what is going on in this world! The world does not revolve around America. Be informative to political, economical and environmental events that are going on in the world because these events can actually effect business.

4. Lonely Planet

You won’t be able to find the best pizza in every city! Know what cities and places are known for. This might produce an opportunity to network with another party. You can offer that you have heard that this city is known for “this type of dessert” and you can ask for their recommendations or to maybe even take you. This will not only serve as an opportunity to network but can also show the other person that you have done your research.

--

--