How do people feel about Shajarian?

Prin bhammockfard
Culture ft. Art
Published in
3 min readOct 20, 2020
Tappersia-Travel-Iram-Sgajarian

Music has always been really important to me, I love to listen to music when I‘m taking pictures, writing, sitting in the car heading to work, or walking outside: not a day goes by when I haven’t listened to a song.

The music I’m listening to changes a lot, but there are some songs that evoke my inner soul, took me to heaven to say hello to my grand parents, and carry me to the ground in the long-sleeved shirt and the travel jeans I bought at the outlet.

The song that put me in the mood when I was wasted. I want to make sure to be a bit more personal with you, and since music is a big part of my life, this also means talking more about it.

The music world is full of great artists and songs, so it’s really hard to choose a favorite when I’ve got so many great songs I want to listen to. This is the first story on Medium about music, so I will try to share the artist and his song with you that I listen to most.

The artist I am currently listening to is Mohammad Reza Shajarian. He is an ambassador of Persian music and resonated with Iranians through Song. I discovered that he has recently passed away in Tehran after a nearly two-decade battle with cancer, My Iranian friends were posting are posting his songs, interview and sadly his funeral.

All his songs are so good, but if I’d have to choose,” Morgh-e Sahar” or “Dawn-Bird” is my favorite. It’s such a raw and beautiful song and when I’m feeling down, it always makes me feel like I’m not alone, and It’s going to be okay. The first time I heard it was literally like the Hallelujah lyrics: it goes like this the fourth the “Well it goes like this The fourth, the fifth, the minor fall and the major liftوThe baffled king composing Hallelujah”.

I’ve heard the music mouth to mouth from every Iranian In Iran. I asked them to sing and they started and suddenly the group of people sang along. I find his voice so soothing, they’re so calm and beautiful song!

To non-Persian speakers, Traditional Iranian music “museghi-ye sonnatihas little durational variability between the syllables in a word, which means roughly equal time to each syllable in a word. The science and theory of Persian music and sound is a combination of body of knowledge, encoding a way of knowing the world and being.

The much loved iconic singer Mohammad Reza Shajarian known as Iran’s king of song himself was not just an admired icon to the society by his many supporter globally, but his family has raised a well known musical family.

The following video of Mohammad Reza Shajarian is something I found on YouTube that some may heard that took me to my time in Iran.

Homayoun Shajarian is one of the leading Persian classical singer as well as a brilliant instrumentalist who will continue a new generation of the great Persian vocal tradition.

--

--