Smooth Persian word that makes you fall in love

Prin bhammockfard
Culture ft. Art
Published in
5 min readOct 22, 2020
Persian words travel around Persia Tappersia love love words

The journey of learning Persian may be hard by searching different websites of universities and academic centers all over the Internet. While some may teach you how to say hello or do the greetings, I want to help you to catch some feelings while talking to a local, let’s say a potential girl or boy.

International travel may have been on hold for all of us, but exploring foreign culture and art is still possible through books, movies, or Medium. While I am self-isolating, finding out how to grill the eggplants and frying my garlic to make Mirza Ghasemi, learning a new language could help us learn intricacies for different cultures. Whether you want to speak, read, or just talk to your friends, consider memorizing these words to surprise your Persian friends.

Aziz-am / عزیزم

Whether at the beginning or at last of every common sentence with the native girls and boys to soothe the mood in a romantic relationship and simply means ” my dear”. Lovers, family

Use this word to a lover, friend, or family member. In fact, Persian love to use “Azizam” simply referring to “my dear” unlike the west, it’s even common to hear male friends call each other by these terms as well.here are some examples :

  • Azizam, Biya Sham bokhor! (my dear, come have some dinner)
  • Azizam, kheili dooset daram (my dear, I love-like you)
  • Salam Azizam, halet chetore? (hi dear, how are you ?)

Since I am primarily teaching you how to steal Persian hearts, let’s get a bit into grammar here, Azizam is a shorter version of Aziz-e-ma, the actual combination of “dear” and “my”.

Jan/جان

Oftentimes, kind Iranians instead of calling people by their names, like Nastaran, Parnian, Amoo, just call them Nastaran Jan, Parnian Jan, Amoo Jan. The word Jan can save you from the embarrassment of forgetting one family member’s name, it’s an affectionate way of calling them.

Not only for family and friends but to break the ice at the classes or a startup company uses the word “Jan” after the name. I personally prefer that. It automatically implies a sense of closeness.

But the bottom line is, you can’t really go wrong when calling someone Joon/jān (unless you have a very formal relationship with them).

Janam/جانم

Janam is a kind warm love, the sort a boyfriend might hold his girlfriend or wife towards her husband. The word “Janam ‘’ means “my life and soul”, it might be said during a minor argument, such as a person can say Janam can be said as an answer to calling one’s name.

  • Janam? Chi gofti? ( my dear, what did you say?)
  • Eshtebah sheode, Janam. (there was a mistake, my dear)
  • Jane man ast oo. (he/she is my life and soul)

There is another term as ``Joonam” which has the same meaning but in a more informal way.

Delbar/ دلبر

In other words, to be so in love but hesitate to say it to the other person that breathing is impossible. Delbar referring to “my dearest” can only be used when having a close romantic smooch. Picture the scene: music plays, arms wrap around each other,” Delbaram” is breathed romantically into an ear.

Of course, it is not illegal to use it at other times. Delbar is perfect for picking up girls and asking them out to dinner, or on one of those intimate moments, such as waking up together in the morning.

  • Delbaram, bia inja! (come over here, my dearest)
  • Khoshgel shodi delbar! ( you look beautiful, my dearest)

Zendegim/ زندگیم

Zendegim is an extremely common term of endearment for couples or a loose boy meaning “ my life”. Zendegim holds a deep and absolute love for a person. A deeply loving word, said quietly over a romantic dinner while holding the hand of your partner, looking seriously into his/her eyes, saying “ Zendegimi- you are my life”

  • To zendegimi ( you are my life)
  • Dooset daram Zendegim ( I love you, my life)

Eshgham/عشقم

Like the Abba song my love song, a word that the person is “your love” or a lifelong love. To experience deep, sudden, and absolute love for someone. That kind of love word that occupies every waking hour (except, maybe when the group chat is going). Eshgham is a strong term that can be used by one person expressing to another, or by a girlfriend at the end of every ordinary sentence to express a deep comment.

  • Eshgham, koja boodi? (my love, where have you been?)
  • Ghorbonet Bram, eshgham (sincerely. My love)
  • Eshgham, in chie poshidi. (my love, what are you wearing ?)

Jigaram/جیگرم

The romantic but less common word” Jigaram” refers to “my liver”. This is an intimate way to express the deepest feelings for someone. The word “Jigar” literally means “liver”, since the Liver has to do with blood distribution and is so important to live, this has become an affectionate way of calling to someone you like or love.

  • Jigarami too! ( you are my liver)
  • Jigareto ghorboon( let me kill myself for your liver) hilarious way to express feelings

Mibosamet/ میبوسمت

In every language, there are a variety of ways to make your partner feel good and the best one is kissing. The term” Miboosamet” means “I kiss you” is common to say at the end of an intimate phone call with loved ones, and literally comes from the bottom of the heart.

  • Khoshhal shodam, Miboosamet, Khodahafez Azizam! (glad to talk to you, I kiss you, goodbye my dear)
  • Manam deltangetam,Miboosamet Janam! (I miss you too,I kiss you)

Nafasam/نفستم

Meaning my soul, this word is a term to hold a deep and absolute love for a person. It is placed in most couples’ sentences as a sign of deep affection. It can be a part of a romantic morning waking up next to your partner, holding her in your arms when drifting asleep, giving her butterfly kisses, looking her face in the face, and calling her Nafasam.

  • Nafasam, khoshgel shodi! ( my soul/my dearest, you look beautiful)

Khoshgelam/خوشگلم

Meaning “my beauty’, Telling a girl she is beautiful much the same as telling a man he is beautiful. She might have a single freckle right on the bridge of her nose,or she might seem to almost dance with her hands when she speaks.

  • Khoshgelam! (my beauty)

To use these words in a sentence you can watch this video from TAPPersia on phrases you can use in a restaurant to get a hang of romantic Persian language and set the mood or take your relationship to another level.

--

--