Knowing Where You’ve Come From

Kirstie McMillan
Culture Hackers
Published in
1 min readMay 14, 2020

Part of the Careering into the Future Series

I was recently musing with my husband and partner about how our working lives have changed over the years. When I began my career looked very different from today and seemed to have a completely different trajectory and direction. In the last 15 years, I have focused on making the most of my passions, skills and learnings to become the coach, counsel and impassioned change facilitator in environments that I value.

That doesn’t really mean very much in real terms but it’s a way I like to summarise in my head that resonates a journey. It’s the beginning of a story that tells the world about the travels and challenges I have made. It focuses my mind on what I have done, the lessons I have learnt and what they have enabled me to be able to do now rather than become a list of things I may not do anymore.

Next time you are looking at your CV, preparing for that interview or talking to someone about what you do, it’s important to be humble about your experiences. They’re not beneath you as you ascend, they are holding you up to push you forward.

--

--

Kirstie McMillan
Culture Hackers

Culture first advocate, Exec/Growth/Career Coach, 20+ years tech leadership and agility guru