What I’ve Learned from #ElectionDay 2016: America has a lot to work on

David A Moran
CULTURE Online
Published in
5 min readNov 8, 2016

As our country heads into one of the most important Election Days in history, I wanted to discuss our responsibility to vote, as a privilege and a right. To suggest to anyone with the “it doesn’t matter” or the “it doesn’t change anything” mindset, that every American's right to vote does hold gravity in 2016.

Although, certain events have taken place this election year that have me questioning how much of all this is broken.

Photo by David A Moran

We’ve been through a whirlwind of a politics and I don’t think there are too many people who foresaw this election unfolding the way it has. When Trump announced his intentions to run last year, I told my roommate that he was ‘probably’ going to be the Republican nominee. Can’t happen,” was my friend Caullen’s response. As hard as I wanted to believe him, I’m sad to say that I was right.

On the democrat's side, Bernie Sander lost what seemed to be a strong and growing campaign against Hilary Clinton due to a shortage of super delegates. However, shortly after the primaries, Wikileaks published 20,000 leaked emails that proved the DNC's attempt to systematically hurt Sander’s campaign in an attempt to push Hilary to the top.

“How Hilary Stole the Nomination” VIa TruthStream Media | Facebook

Honestly, this election process has me feeling kinda empty. Why does a democratic system that is suppose to work for the people not actually adhere to it’s people or represent them?

Trump has gone from someone who “speaks his mind” to someone who apparently grabs any pussy he wants, giving all of this a reality TV sort of feel and it’s ridiculous. “The Donald” has managed to get more television time than any other Republican nominee for reasons that frankly, should not be tied to someone who is running for President. Trump has managed to offend thousands of American’s by saying racist, misogynistic, xenophobic, and overall ignorant remarks — and yet he manages to get over 60% of the Republican vote in the primaries! How Sway??!

Watching his hateful rallies on television, listening to his debates that are inflamed with demeaning rhetoric and overall childish attitude makes me sick. And the people who support that man scare me. The level of disrespect often displayed by them and the honesty with which they speak is saddening. The ignorance goes so thick and so old that attempting to explain oppression or inequality is useless.

Blue Nation Review | Facebook

My parents came to Chicago from the ghettos of Mexico City because this was the country of opportunity. It was a place where anyone, if they worked hard, could achieve anything. It was the land of immigrants and my parents, like many who crossed the border, worked hard to keep a roof over my brother and I. My parents constantly pushed the idea of acquiring an education, thinking if their boys went to college and got a degree, they could get a good job.

“I don’t want you to work like me,” my parents would say, working daily for the betterment of their family. And yet Trump, who is demanding America build a wall between these countries, calls Mexicans “rapists” and “criminals” and people cheer! It blows my mind. Yet, I understand that the “America” he wants to go back to might not include many of my friends and family , so his message wasn’t intended to resonate with me.

I don’t want to have to choose between the lesser of two evils but casting a vote for Gary Johnson or Jill Stein appears be a waste in what has been a two-pony race historically. My vote either goes for the neoliberal capitalist or the “Trump,” who has radicalized far greater than anyone could have imaged with white nationalism at the heart of his campaign.

There is a light to all this. With Trump running a campaign inflamed with demeaning language and crude, offensive humor, he has shined light on all the hate that still exists within this country. He has helped expose the ignorance and the anger that has been brewing in the underbelly of this country. But more importantly, he has helped bring out all the love.

Back in Spring of 2016, when I first heard that Trump was holding a rally in Chicago’s UIC Pavilion, I thought it was a joke. As I made my way to vote early, I saw a line of Trump supporters waiting to get in. I knew they existed, but seeing it in person for the first time was shocking. While exiting the campus, I went around curious to see how much bigger the line had gotten and to my surprise the line had been replaced by a rather large group of anti-Trump protesters.

There are many accounts of people who protested within his rallies that were spat on, yelled at and physically attacked. But not March 11, not in here. Chicago rescinded his hate-mongering and managed to get him to cancel his campaign event, which he credited to council from city police. That day made me proud to be a Chicagoan.

Twitter @jessycamalina

We still have much to do. Women are still paid less than men, that’s a reality. Systematic racial oppression is a thing; police brutality and racial profiling exists with numbers and stats to convey their tangibility. We live in a political system that is tied to money and corruption. CNN just “severed ties” with their very own Donna Brazile after Wikileaks revealed Brazile sharing questions with Clinton before Flint, Michigan’s debate against Bernie Sanders.

Twitter @SoapBoxPO

We have a difficult task before us no matter who wins this election. We need to help sustain the sense of urgency we have now and take it forward. Share it with our friends and family, help educate one another, strive constantly for a better America.

America was never great for everyone, we have to understand that. Divided, we can’t hope to achieve anything, but together we can nurture this culture we’ve created for ourselves and begin to be the change we wish to see in this world.

David A Moran is a Chicano writer, poet, & essayist from the west side of Chicago

--

--