Our Favourite Two-Line Horror Stories of Reddit

Lucy Miller
Culture reviews & interviews
2 min readJun 21, 2019

Reddit has provided us with some beautifully horrific procrastination material in the past. Anyone remember the Creepiest Things Kids Say?

Now, we have been presented with another simple idea: horror stories, no more than two lines long. Less is more, guys, remember.

In amongst the scratching noises behind the bedroom wall/last man on earth and there’s a knock on the door/my daughter is smiling at me my daughter is dead clichés, the users of Reddit have proved themselves to be an imaginatively sick (and occasionally poetic) bunch.

Here are some of our favourites:

“After working a hard day I came home to see my girlfriend cradling our child. I didn’t know which was more frightening, seeing my dead girlfriend and stillborn child, or knowing that someone broke into my apartment to place them there.”

“ I’ve been nailed to a wall for six months, the only thing she’s fed me is my own flesh. Today she showed me my reflection, I can see my spine but I’m so hungry.”

“ It had been days since I last ate, and the skeletal remains had been gnawed down ’til they were pearly white. “Mommy, I need another puppy.”

“The longer I wore it the more it grew on me. She had such pretty skin.”

“ I expected the sound of the blood splattering, of her screaming, but something in the sound of organs rupturing was new and all too familiar at the same time. It was the sound of bubble gum popping in the summertimes I remembered, and with that her blood splashing became a lake I jumped into, and her screams became my laughter.”

“My daughter won’t stop crying and screaming in the middle of the night. I visit her grave and ask her to stop, but it doesn’t help.”

“It sat on my shelf, with thoughtless porcelain eyes and the prettiest pink doll dress I could find. Why did she have to be born still?”

TNS takes no responsibility for any nightmares you might now have.

If you think you can do better, feel free to submit us your creepy thoughts.

View more horror stories on Reddit here.

This article was originally published on thenationalstudent.com

--

--