Paul Grech
Cultured Football
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2016

--

Best in Football Writing Last Week: Designing an Iconic Badge, Mourinho’s Influence and Kosovo’s Football Debut

Roma’s Lupetto badge — as well as this shirt — was designed by Piero Gratton

[ 1 ] THE DAWN OF KOSOVO’S FOOTBALL NATION
James Montague for Bleacher Report
It isn’t easy to describe the road that has led to the establishment of Kosovo as a footballing entity due to the politics, emotions and history involved. But boy does James Montague talk about it. Quite simply brilliant writing.

Memorable Quote: “If I count all my family, 36 people were killed. Everyone has someone who was killed in the war.”

[ 2 ] ‘90% OF WHAT I DO NOW I’VE LEARNED FROM JOSE’ MOURINHO’
Nick Ames for The Guardian
It is easy to dislike Jose’ Mourinho, and indeed he seems to crave and feed of that public antipathy towards him, yet it is hard to disregard the number of coaches who have worked with him and gone off to have a respectable career of their own. Brunoo Ribeiro may not have yet hit the heights of others but he is doing a good enough job at Port Vale, a job that he got following personal reference of Mourinho himself.

Memorable Quote: “When I arrived here we had seven players. We needed players everywhere, every position.”

[ 3 ] THE BIRTH OF AS ROMA’S CLUB SYMBOL
Paul Grech for Gentleman Ultra

First of all: yes, this is an article that I wrote. But I wouldn’t be including it here if I didn’t think that the story deserved it. Essentially this is an interview with Piero Gratton the man (and visionary) who in the late seventies designed AS Roma’s lupetto badge that has come to symbolise the club. It was a fascinating story that I enjoyed uncovering and hope that you enjoy reading.

Memorable Quote: “One time I found myself in the Roma Prima Porta cemetery in the section where children are buried. On the ground the parents place small toys that these unfortunate children most loved. Among these there were a lot of flags with AS Roma’s lupetto badge that had come to symbolise their fantasy and passion.”

“It was a sight that really touched me and to this day the thought moves me.”

Like what you’ve seen? Want more? Join the mailing list where you’ll not only receive these links directly in your e-mail inbox every Sunday evening, but you’ll also get a bonus link each week. Join here.

--

--

Paul Grech
Cultured Football

Eager to make a difference. Lover of books, movies, music and football. Not necessarily in that order.