Get cultured: Re-introducing myself to jazz

Joey Alexander, 13-year-old jazz prodigy, performed at St. Cecilia Music Center on Thursday night. I ventured out of my comfort zone for a little culture, and wasn’t disappointed.

Rob Luebke
culturedGR
3 min readMar 24, 2017

--

Joey Alexander performing at St. Cecilia Music Center. Photo credit Marjorie Steele.

When I was asked if I liked jazz and wanted to attend a jazz performance by Joey Alexander at St. Cecilia Music Center, I had to ask myself,

“Do I even like jazz?”

You see, I am not very cultured. I used to be, I think. But with the dawning of streaming video, culture for me means little more than dancing to Boy George’s Karma Chameleon at some 80s dance party in a dive bar somewhere. Even those days are few and far between.

Unfortunately, jazz has always sounded like nothing more than chaotic noise to me. That changed Thursday night with the amazing and dare I say awes-inspiring performance of 13 year old jazz prodigy Joey Alexander. (When I was 13, I had mastered Nintendo’s Duckhunt.)

Joey Alexander performing at St. Cecilia Music Center. Photo credit Marjorie Steele.

With reluctant excitement, I headed downtown. Parking was not ideal but that’s event parking in downtown GR for you, right? Besides it was a nice evening for a walk. The auditorium was packed.

Joey Alexander opened the show with three original pieces, the third a mesmerizingly beautiful piece called Sunday Waltz. Next it was time for a little Coltrane, playing the title track off of his newest album: Calm Down. Another original piece followed with, a little Thelonius Monk after that. Closing the show with an encore of a gospel song “I am Dying Oh Lord” which was haunting and beautiful.

The chaotic noise of my past brushes with jazz was made more interesting by the charm, exuberance, and talent radiating off of this young prodigy.

So now, having attended Thursday evening’s performance in the newly and beautifully renovated concert hall of St. Cecilia Music Center, I can honestly say that “yes, I do like jazz.”

It’s a small like; I’ve definitely not been made a jazz convert. But I have been reminded of the benefits of opening myself up to new possibilities and experiences, and I’ll take that as a night on the town well spent.

And I definitely feel more cultured. (Sorry, Boy George.)

Joey Alexander performing at St. Cecilia Music Center. Photo credit Marjorie Steele.

--

--

Rob Luebke
culturedGR

Writer.Wonderer.Wanderer. 10 yrs ago I didn't even own a TV. Now years later: Netflix, Hulu & Amazon have turned me dumm. So I'm here to get cultured.