My Top 10 Films of 2016

William George-Louis
Culture Glaze
Published in
4 min readJan 3, 2017

No honorable mentions. No ties. Just the ten best movies of the year.

Krisha Fairchild

#10 “Krisha” directed by Trey Edward Shults

A powerful debut feature from a young filmmaker in complete control of his craft. It’s a personal account of his family’s history shot inside his mother’s house. “Krisha” displays strong technical skills of a budding new auteur that makes the future of cinema exciting.

Laura Dern, Kristen Stewart, Lily Gladstone and Michelle Williams

#9 “Certain Women” directed by Kelly Reichardt

Quiet yet powerful is not only the best way to describe the film but the director, as well. Four strong women within three chapters each overcome an obstacle that evoke a range of emotions all in one small town. Lily Gladstone stands out among the amazing talent in a breakout performance.

#8 “Right Now, Wrong Then” directed by Hong Sang-soo

A Korean filmmaker travels to a town for a screening of his film during the course of a weekend. While wandering around, he meets a local painter and gets to know her better. And then we see it again. This film showcases how slight differences can significantly change an outcome. Hong Sang-soo films always put a smile on my face.

Colin Farrell and Rachel Weisz

#7 “The Lobster” directed by Yorgos Lanthimos

It’s Tinder the movie with pets. Single adults are sent to a resort. They have 45 days to find a partner, or they turn into an animal. Which animal would you want to be?

#6 “Cameraperson” directed by Kirsten Johnson

An outstanding portrait of an artist with an incredibly diverse body of work. It’s an extraordinary document which explores the various projects from around the world that Johnson has captured and the time she has shared with others. “Cameraperson” stuck with me long after each viewing (three) as if my mind forgot to say cut.

#5 “Moonlight” directed by Barry Jenkins

Believe the hype. I left the theatre inspired to create. This film makes me want to become a better artist.

#4 “I, Daniel Blake” directed by Ken Loach

Everything you want to see in a film. It’s fucked up, funny, sweet and sad. “I, Daniel Blake” is one for the 99%.

Lucas Hedges and Casey Affleck

#3 “Manchester by the Sea” directed by Kenneth Lonergan

My favorite American narrative feature. One of the year’s best screenplays, written by Lonergan, which includes three phenomenal performances, Affleck, Hedges and Michelle Williams. I’ve seen it three times, and it still affected me the same way.

#2 “O.J.: Made in America” directed by Ezra Edelman

Shakespearean! An epic so rich in detail that the 467 minute running time flew by. There is not a second that could be spared, and I’d totally see it again in one sitting. This is not only my favorite non-fiction film of the year but also the best edited (Bret Granato, Maya Mumma and Ben Sozanski).

Peter Simonischek

#1 “Toni Erdmann” directed by Maren Ade

Wonderfully unique. I had no idea where the story was going as it unfolded, but after the opening scene, I was on the edge of my seat. See “Toni Erdmann” with the largest audience possible. I’ve never heard such a thunderous round of applause during the middle of a screening as I did in Alice Tully Hall at this year’s New York Film Festival.

--

--