Shallow Thoughts: Behind the Scenes

Casey Klug
Culture Glaze
Published in
3 min readJan 31, 2014

Shallow Thoughts: Vapid headline grabbing, meandering nothings and a false sense of importance.

Posted by: Casey

Colbert Report

On Wednesday I got to see a taping of the Colbert Report. It was my first time seeing him, and the experience was really great. I’ve gotten so used to only seeing him in character that I was a little shocked to learn he does a Q&A with the audience out of character before the show begins. Out of character didn’t mean playing it straight, he still was full of jokes, but it was interesting to see him not promoting his fake agenda for a while. The show itself was great, he seemed to really feed off the audience, and sincerely care about entertaining everyone when the cameras weren’t rolling. The only surprise was seeing him have to re-tape a few lines. It’s easy to think that Colbert doesn’t make mistakes when you watch it from home and see how precisely everything comes together. Also, if you didn’t see Colbert’s appearance in the “Puppy Bowl” last night, you should really watch it.

True Detective

This show is really interesting to me. I question how HBO is able to pay the salaries of both Matthew McConaughey and Woody Harrelson, but the duo is fantastic. McConaughey plays a character that is brutally pessimistic, maybe more-so than any character I’ve seen on television before. In contrast, Harrelson plays the traditional family man, with some issues that resonate below his smiling exterior. The pairing and contrast is fantastic. The story also unwinds at a slow but confident pace while jumping back and forth between time-lines. The visuals are stunning, and so far I can’t really find much to complain about in the show. It’s a lot different than anything else I’ve seen on TV, and I will definitely keep watching.

Pillar Point

I learned about this band on the KEXP podcast, and really liked this song. So far this Seattle group seems to be super under the radar, but I’m hoping they gain some popularity from their exposure on KEXP. The keys and upbeat pop vocals remind me a lot of the British band Metronomy. Also, if you’re into “indie/alternative” music and haven’t listened to KEXP, I highly recommend it, they are easily my favorite radio station. You can stream their station online or find a free weekly podcast available for download.

Bourbon County Stout

Is easily one of my favorite beers. If you are able to find this in a bar or store near you, and you haven’t tried it before, do it! At 15 percent alcohol, it exceeds most wines in strength, yet it goes down incredibly smooth. The bourbon barrels it’s aged in make this a real sipper, and it takes on a lot of the barrel notes, but it is also has a noticeable delicious chocolate flavor. I tried to stock up on this right when it came out this year, but it’s really hard to ration these, they’re just too good to resist.

That’s it for my Shallow Thoughts. Next Friday Soren will be posting his. Check out Soren’s Monday Musings this Monday!

--

--