Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Brendan Kolasa
Culture Glaze
Published in
3 min readDec 11, 2014

“Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens”….The Trailer!

This past Friday the trailer for “Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens” was released online and in 30 theaters across the US. For Star Wars fans across the US and the world, this was bigger than any Thanksgiving Dinner or Black Friday shopping. Already by the beginning of this week, it beat “The Avengers: Age of Ultron” and “Jurassic World” as the most watched trailer of the year. Ever since Disney bought Lucasfilms and the rights to Star Wars, there has been a new hope that maybe we’ll get a good trilogy, one that makes us forget about the prequels with their trade embargoes, Clone Wars, and Gungans.

Hiring J.J. Abrams was a good start. Then they brought in Lawrence Kasdan to polish up the script and bring in the same charm, wit and sense of adventure that he did with “The Empire Strikes Back.” When it came to the cast, bringing back the original Big Three (sorry Miami Heat of yesteryear) of Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher and Harrison Ford was what fans had wanted, but truthfully never thought would happen. I was skeptical at first but with each new image of Mark Hamill and his Jedi beard being released, the more I was sold. Then they rounded out the rest of the cast not with A-List celebrities, but with young guns who will be taking over more and more screen time as this new trilogy carries on. John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, and Oscar Isaac we see throughout this new trailer. Domhnall Gleeson, Adam Driver, and Lupita Nyong’o are also part of the cast. Are they villains? Are they good guys? Are they characters in motion capture suits and also lending their voice? No idea. But with Andy Serkis (Gollom in “Lord of the Rings” and Caesar in the new “Planet of the Apes” movies) on board, you better believe if they are he’ll have lent them some sage advice.

I have no idea what the plot is. I have no idea who these characters will be. I don’t want to know. I want to be able to sit in the theater on December 18thand have my mind blown. It’s at that point I want to know why there is a Stormtrooper wandering around the deserts of Tatooine with his helmet off. It’s then I want to know how we’ve evolved to a lightsaber with a hilt. It’s then when I want to see Harrison Ford chew up every scene he’s in and bring me back to a time when I recreated scenes with all of my action figures on my living room floor. So take a look at the trailer below and when you’re done, I’m sure you’ll be like me: Counting down the days until December 2015.

Movie Trailer:

--

--