REVIEW: Delta One International

(JFK-LHR), June 2023

Carl Cheng
Cup of Chai | a food and travel publication

--

I had yet to fly and experience Delta One so when I found a decent roundtrip price to London that would help me earn a lot of Medallion Qualifying Dollars (MQD) to earn Delta status for next year, it felt like a great opportunity.

The Flight:

I was eager to board my flight because it was delayed 2 hours due to our plane being late to arrive, and all the lounges at JFK on that day were extremely crowded. When I got to my seat, the menu, recycled bedding, slippers, and amenity kit were all nicely laid out.

During boarding, the pilot walked through the plane and joyously introduced himself and thanked everyone for flying Delta. I had never seen that happen before but maybe it was special for this flight as a nice way to pick up spirits after the delay.

I was able to connect to the WiFi an hour into the flight, and it was a nice surprise to see that there was free WiFi with T-Mobile. It was a good enough speed for browsing and messaging, which is the general benchmark I have for in-flight internet.

We made up a bit of time in the air, landing at 9:25am resulting in a 1.5 hour delay from the original ETA. It wasn’t a big deal for me because I had a long layover and was still able to have ample time in the Virgin Atlantic…

--

--

Carl Cheng
Cup of Chai | a food and travel publication

Activist / Gamer / Jetsetter / Hangry / Dork with swagger. Based in ATX with CA and NYC roots