The Difficulties of Taking it Easy

By Abb-d Choudhury • Written for Curate Magazine Issue Five: Process

Abb-d Choudhury
Curate Magazine
6 min readDec 17, 2016

--

In the western world, we portray the ones who live fast as the few who get things done and do well. The ethos of ‘work hard, play hard, earn your place or die trying’. What about the ones who choose the opposite? The intentionally slow, the ones who cherish every moment and purposely take their time? There are many articles about the ethos and practice of slow living, but few to explain the transition in getting there. This is the classic tale of the tortoise vs. the hare in modern context — my story of transition from fast living to going slow and taking it easy.

Complacency was the initial feeling, in my experience. Working as a designer in a large international agency for five years started off as a dream, and soon became something else. With time and growth, office politics stifled the creative push and work became less innovative. Being there was easy and comfortable — subsequently becoming less creatively challenging. I wanted more in life, not in the material sense, but rather experiential; I wanted to practise the philosophy of ‘less is more’. Tired of the stresses of corporate life, office politics, social obligations, and habits that formed around a lifestyle that meant little to me, it was time to walk toward the unknown and make a change.

Forget what you know and do.

I began by trying the 30-day minimalism challenge, to reset and stop being distracted by the little things. The challenge poses ‘big goals and tricky habit changes are much easier to achieve after temporal cut-offs’. I began changing my daily responsibilities, resulting in the decision to quit my job and focus on projects that meant something other than a pay cheque. Outside of work, I started changing my evening habits from watching TV to reading, making, learning and understanding.

Declutter and be more considerate.

I went through a preface of decluttering my life, both external and internal. I started to read ‘The Life-changing Magic of Tidying’ by Marie Kondo, for some insight into creating the perfect atmosphere. Generally speaking, I am a pretty clean and a somewhat particular person when it comes to cleanliness and organisation, but I wanted to broaden the outlook I was hoping to achieve and practise.

I spared nothing that didn’t hold some value; clothes, ornamental items, magazines, books, DVDs, furniture etc. If it hadn’t been touched or appreciated in the last three months, it was done for. Post the declutter of material possessions and numerous trips to the charity shop, I noticed how much unnecessary stuff was floating around and how revitalising my new-found space was.

I spared nothing that didn’t hold some value

The result became a light, neutral environment that ultimately helped me to think with clarity. I became more considerate with every object in my life and about future purchases. That said, my wardrobe was now sparse — my vision had left me with only a handful of basics in natural materials — a perfect base to build a thoughtful wardrobe.

I took a ‘Tom Ford’ approach, dressing in quality clothing and buying numerous pairs of the same thing. Albeit it wasn’t the same uniform, but rather a considered selection of four to six outfits which I maintain over the seasons. Resulting in now what’s considered to be ‘my look’ amongst friends and peers.

Take your time and enjoy things.

Alongside all this, I started to incorporate other practices and beliefs that would encourage the slow living and considerate approach. As well as the reading, learning and understanding, I began to take my time with everything, enjoying solitude and practising mindfulness through meditation. I made the decision to go vegetarian for its lighter environmental footprint; in retrospect, it’s ridiculous that I didn’t do or realise this sooner.

We also looked at what impact we could have on our community and the planet by reducing our waste and the home-making products we use. One exercise we find useful is to look inside the fridge, then actually look at what’s edible and the packaging that will subsequently go in the trash. Chances are, your food is displayed on trays and wrapped in plastic, or has some form of unnecessary packaging. Despite recycling your waste, unfortunately much still finds its way into landfill.

Invest and support your local community.

We discovered that our local farm offers a weekly, organic vegetable and fruit box direct to your door. Crates are then reclaimed weekly to reduce waste and encourage re-use. Any food we needed in the week we would either make ourselves, or buy loose and organic. It may sound expensive, but it actually worked out far cheaper. The weekly box feeds two people at around £14 per week. Besides this, our only additional expense is for grains and other daily necessities such as coffee, and ingredients primarily to make our own almond milk and bread.

Look to nature and make your own stuff.

We even took it a step further and applied this practice into our own cosmetics. Everything we use on our bodies we now make by blending oils and combining ingredients based on our needs. From hair and face oil, to soaps and balms, it’s a lovely way to spend a Sunday afternoon and what you make will last for weeks. Plus, you know all the ingredients that will be absorbed by your skin.

We have become dependent on the supermarkets, and brands offering convenience at an unsustainable rate and cost to the planet.

The overarching result in all of this is a healthier and more active lifestyle. Feeling clean mentally, externally and internally gives us clarity in the daily chaos.

Transitioning from a speedy hare to a thoughtful, confident tortoise, helped me to understand and realise the nature of communities, and reverting to something simpler. Individuals within communities require a sense of self-worth, a role to play that suits only them. Our disjointed living in urban societies and cities blinds us to the tricks that nature holds, and how communities once worked together. Many of us no longer know where foods and household products come from, or how they are made. We have become dependent on supermarkets, and brands offering convenience, at an unsustainable rate and cost to the planet. That’s not to say you should pack your life up and raise your children in the wilderness like Captain Fantastic. There are processes that you can apply and adapt your life to — and it starts with spending less time staring at a screen! Explore your interests, look to nature for answers and most importantly, take your time, slow down and enjoy every minute.

By Abb-d Choudhury • Written for Curate Magazine Issue Five: Process

--

--

Abb-d Choudhury
Curate Magazine

Founder of Driftime® — designer, writer, traveller, culture & music enthusiast.