My experience from research to application.

Beth Beitz
Presentation Skills
3 min readMar 5, 2018
Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

In this blog post I will discuss what I’ve done this past week to improve upon my presentation skills physically and how my mind set has changed.

What did you do to practice this skill?

To practice this skill I have done a lot of research and implemented my vision to PowerPoints for presentations coming up. My research included at least 7 TedTalks, various blog posts, the two books I had checked out from the library, and other various sources. Both presentations involve case studies so my PowerPoints are more statistical in nature. I have attached a few slides below to further illustrate my results.

Number of Drivers
In relation to number of Dunkin’ Donuts in Suffolk County.
Boston Marathon Partnership
Conclusion Slide

Have you improved?

From my slides you can see how concise and supportive they are. They are not hindering the presented material or distracting you. If anything they are hopefully provoking questions and intrigument. Some questions may be:

What do those numbers mean?

What is the video about?

How does that quote relate to the theme of the presentation?

How has your thinking changed?

My thinking has changed more on the development of slide decks as well as the story each slide should tell. Overall a presentation should develop from a story line. I feel each slide here presents their own story that overall supports the theme.

What will you do next time to continue practicing this skill?

Next time I will continue to develop slide decks in this manner and keep rewatching ted talks to pick up small tips and advice. I also ask numerous people for tips on how to improve the slides and what they would like to see.

Some improvements included:

Orginal black background changed to white.

Pie charts were adjusted to be bar graphs.

The names of people presenting were moved to the title slide instead of having their own seperate slide.

The list goes on, overall I feel I have learned a lot over this brief week of research and application.

--

--