Who are the greatest speakers of all time?

Beth Beitz
Presentation Skills
2 min readMar 4, 2018

Names that may come to mind:

Martin Luther King Jr., Howard Schultz, Obama, Steve Jobs etc…

In this blog post I will be discussing how Steve Jobs seemed to effortlessly present/sell his products to the public. I have attached a video of Jobs introducing the iPhone which I will later disect.

Zaman, L. [Host]. (2013). Steve Jobs Unveils The Original iPhone — Macworld San Francisco 2007 [YouTube].

The following is a technical list of how Jobs presents.

  1. Before introducing the topic Jobs greets and acknowledges the audience. He also gives them their purpose, saying “We’re going to make some history today.”
  2. He starts with the beginning of a story and fully details the statistics in his speech while only having slides with one word and one picture behind him.
  3. He makes jokes, this equalizes the audience and Jobs.
  4. He controls the speech through an outline saying “first we will talk about …” in the beginning followed by a closing statement that summarizes and declares the next topic.
  5. He repeats/restates important information. For example, “an iPod, a phone, and an internet communicator.”
  6. His slide deck is never overwhelming. 1–3 pictures, simple language, graphs, videos, demonstrations.

7. Lastly, every number he mentions is meaningful, no filler information.

I choose this video because it is something almost everyone can relate to. Especially because most people have an iPhone or Mac. Steve Jobs was also a one of the most noteable speakers in Silicon Valley. I hope to incorporate some of his examples and ideas into my current slide decks.

For example, I have begun to develop my speech during my presentation for the case study mentioned in my previous blog post. I have also incorporated a direct theme slide and verbal transitions between slides. Lastly, I have discarded any non-supporting data and simplified the slide deck language.

Steve Jobs (1955–2011)

Sources:

Zaman, L. [Host]. (2013). Steve Jobs Unveils The Original iPhone — Macworld San Francisco 2007 [YouTube].

Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e7EfxMOElBE

--

--