How to Avoid Burnout

Chris Gang
cured.
Published in
4 min readMar 17, 2021

--

I glance up from the bright screen and see large shadows on the houses across the street. I check the time and it’s 5:32 pm. “Is it already that late? I should stop now, but this last thing won’t take much longer.” That last thing does take much longer. I check the time and it’s now 8:06 pm. It’s completely dark outside. “Ah, shoot… Not again.”

How many times have you found yourself in this situation? After the pandemic began, I found myself doing this way too often. It took a toll on me. I began to burn out and dread work. I couldn’t work my way through this problem like I usually do. Work had become the problem.

Living like this for the first couple of months of the pandemic was miserable. I realized I should pay attention to my energy while working and not the number of hours. What’s the use of putting in 12-hour days with low energy if I can get the same amount done in 4 intensely-focused hours?

It was after about 3 months where I began to allow the work culture at Cured to influence my behavior. At Cured we have a Slack channel, #whereyoube, where people post when they’re stepping away from work. Throughout the day I’ll often see my co-workers take breaks from work to take walks, go for runs, run errands, take care of their kids. I was slowly convinced it was okay to prioritize mental health and life, over work.

After this realization, I felt free to begin experimenting with different methods for working on my mental health and energy levels. Here’s what’s worked so far.

Exercising Before Work

I found that exercising before work allowed me to get my dopamine fix so I wasn’t distracted during work. I didn’t need dopamine hits from YouTube or LinkedIn as much. Regular exercise has also helped me become more fit, thus boosting my energy levels.

Proper Sleep Hygiene

I’m a pretty light sleeper so proper sleep hygiene is crucial. I’ve conditioned myself to fall asleep through a sleep routine I do every night. Wearing a sleep mask and earplugs has also helped improve sleep restfulness. I tried taping my mouth shut since mouth breathing has the potential to be a serious health concern, but I was never able to keep it on throughout the night.

Meditation

10 minutes of meditation a day has been life-changing. It’s helped me be more mindful and realize that thoughts are just thoughts. I don’t have to react to them. Giving my brain a break, even if it is only for 10 minutes, has been surprisingly energizing.

Creative Expression

I do get to be creative in my role as a software engineer, but at times it’s limited. The part of my brain responsible for coding gets worn out pretty quickly. Exercising the creative side of my brain through writing allows the other side to rest. After a fruitful night session of writing, I’m eager to open a code editor the next morning.

Midday Vitamin D Breaks

Working while the sun is up is a bit depressing. If I need a break I’ll walk the doggos, go for a run, or play some basketball. Exercising while the sun is up is so much better than exercising in the dark. Also, vitamin D deficiencies can lead to fatigue and depression, so this has been a huge priority for me.

Conclusion

Before this pandemic, I thought more work was always better. I could solve any problem by working through it. A unique combination of prolonged burnout, isolation, time to think, and a great work culture has opened my eyes to a better approach. I’m far from perfect in practicing the methods I’ve mentioned, but now I know energy and mental health take priority over work, which will, in turn, make work a better experience.

--

--