A Tale Between Two…Siddhis?

Synead Cidney Nichols
Curiosity Lab
Published in
3 min readApr 8, 2021

I was at my friend Olivia’s house drinking a nice cold cider when I picked up the book “Be Here Now” by Ram Dass. Memories of the last 3-years suddenly ran through my body and in the midst of all the moods, one memory stood out- my friend Ollie discussing Ram Dass with me and how it might benefit me. “You should check it out” he urged. Having recently started a journey towards some sort of internal fulfillment and abundance, the concepts of universal consciousness and human connection were very intriguing. Although months had gone by since not taking Ollie’s advice, to be receiving another opportunity to dive into Ram Dass’ thoughts on spirituality, psychology & yoga- it’s one blessing in disguise I will hold on to.

So, I picked up the book, closed my eyes, and let the pages flutter in front of me. The soft breeze of the rippling pages and my soft breath on the air above the book was creating a very dramatic moment if I say so myself. Focusing all my energy intently, I gently picked up my hand and cast them over the edge of the book. As my fingers grazed the floating and fluttering pages, I came to a stop. The section was labeled “Siddhis”.

Ram Dass- Be Here Now

“Oh! How funny!” I thought. People often refer to me as “Ciddy”- one of my favored terms of endearment. Not only did the page feel like some cosmic coming together, it felt like some sort of homecoming and I liked that. Especially since I had been away from Brooklyn for almost three months. It felt as if I needed to heed what I was reading much more. That a sense of openness was paramount.

What are “siddhis” you ask? They are supernatural, or otherwise magical powers, abilities, and attainments. Magical powers attained through yogic practices. Magic powers?! Sign me up! I will admit that I am very fond of yoga, but the attainment of “abilities” through a practice I’m happy to do? Sounds like my kind of gig.

Although I knew I wouldn’t be controlling the cosmos this lifetime, I have been given the power to generate- “to bring into existence, create and distribute vitally and profusely with intention”. The way this works in my life starts with my breath; intention. That breath we take right in the midst of the peace & chaos. It is the breath that keeps us alive, present, aware, and ultimately- in control. It becomes tricky to find a moment to breathe and feel in control when the world is shouting at you to hold it all in and never ask for help. Taking a moment to breathe can offer compassion, empathy, safety, and in my case, the clarity to make the steps needed towards change.

We bring our intentions and energy into existence by allowing those inner feelings and thoughts to take shape through physicalized actions. Once these thoughts have gone from the inward to the outward, it must be widely shared with positive intention. However, power is a double-edged machete. It is up to you, to us, to know how to use these opportunities- for the greater good of all rather than for selfish or aggressive power.

Breathe. Use your power wisely. Never force it. Never misuse it. Let it live and breathe so you can too.

--

--

Synead Cidney Nichols
Curiosity Lab

Cuntata/queer/expressionist/poly-disciplinary performance artist