Growing & Owning a Hollywood Empire

--

Interview with Codie Elaine Oliver | Producer/Director | Creator, Black Love

Portrait: Tom Kubik

Originally from Texas, a true southern belle, Codie Elaine Oliver wins you over with her stunning smile, infectious warmth and a genuine ability to connect and be present. The Hollywood producer and director co-created the hit docu-series, Black Love, with her husband, Tommy. Black Love premiered as the most-watched unscripted series debut in Oprah Winfrey Network (OWN)’s history.

Codie has played a real part in the long-overdue Renaissance of Black men and women in entertainment as the creator of “We Are the Industry” (WAI).The “word of mouth invitation” networking brunches were where Lena Waithe, the 1st Black woman to win an Emmy for comedy writing, met her bestie and fellow writer Ben Jones (Insecure, Underground). It’s through WAI’s email network that Issa Rae (Insecure, Awkward Black Girl) met her producing partner, Deniese Davis. Countless shorts, series, features, and production companies have been staffed by people of color using We Are the Industry as a resource over the last decade.

There is no website, no Facebook group, no Instagram, simply a space to turn the perpetual “let’s do lunch” into a reality and a safe haven for individuals of diversity to come together in fellowship. That and an email list-serve where folks can share events and job info, encouraging collaboration, connection, and true friendship…a place ‘where everybody knows your name.’

What is your personal mantra/motto right now?

“I want to do what makes me happy until it doesn’t anymore.” That is my truth.

It reminds me not to do anything for any reason other than it fulfills me or it makes me better. It’s my way of honoring myself. If something doesn’t feel right or isn’t consistent with what I want for my life, it’s time to move along.

Where are you from?

Ft. Worth, Texas

Share a moment in your life that made you passionate about making the world a better place?

There are many moments that make me want to make the world a better place, but when I think about my dad, who was a family practice physician his entire career, I’m reminded that it’s in my DNA to give back to others.

It isn’t simply because my dad was a doctor, it’s because my dad insisted on having his own practice (with my grandfather) in a predominately Black area of Ft. Worth, TX, where he treated patients because they were in need, regardless of whether they could pay. The Brooks Family Practice Clinic operated under this principle and is a reminder to me to take care of people, especially the Black community.

Patrons of Progress is all about showcasing people who are using their influence for good. What does “doing good” mean to you?

For me, “doing good” is using my gifts to help others and, honestly, extending myself where my own skills fall short (lol). What I mean is that if I don’t have information for someone in need, but I know who does, I’m going to connect those people. I’m committed to building with women and people of color, i.e. the communities I identify with or that I feel are often disadvantaged. We have to work together rather than be in competition with one another.

Portrait: Tom Kubik

If you could choose one word to describe yourself, what would it be and why?

Kind. Why? Because sometimes I’m nice to a fault, putting others before myself. It’s the southerness in me, I guess. While that may sound like I’m complimenting myself, it works both ways. I don’t always put myself and my needs first and that’s important in all aspects of life — business, and relationships. I’m working on balance!

What sparked your interest and passion to start We Are the Industry?

I started We Are the Industry when I was new to film school and meeting Black people all over LA in various areas of film and television. I wanted to expand my network, but it’s hard to make quality time for every person you meet. Plus I felt like we were all building our skill-sets, relationships, etc. I was a producer and some of these people were writers, directors, musicians, etc.

We can build together. So I invited 12 people to Roscoe’s Chicken & Waffles for breakfast, some I knew well and some I had just met. From there, it grew to an e-group and more brunches and events. Now there’s over 800 people in the group sharing information and promoting their work.

What do you hope our readers/viewers will gain from either your story or We Are the Industry’s story?

I hope that people realize we are not in competition with one another. Someone else’s shine does not dim your own.

Resources and technology aside, if you could make one remarkable change in the world by 2020, what would it be?

I want to continue to tell diverse and positive stories about women and people of color that teach the rest of the world about us.

Share something that you’ve learned along the way that has helped guide you in your journey?

Own stuff. I learned that through the process of creating a TV show with my husband. It’s imperative that we don’t completely give away our products and creative gifts. That thought was reiterated to me recently while interviewing a couple for our show. They’ve been married 50 years and from day 1, they built wealth from nothing by first living on one salary and then investing to build off what they saved. They were remarkable.

Own stuff. Grow your brand and empire in the driver’s seat.

Portrait: Tom Kubik

Follow Patrons of Progress on Instagram @curiositylab

Concept + Production by London Wright-Pegs, Michael Tennant + Meghan Holzhauer // Interview by London Wright-Pegs // Portraits by Tom Kubik

--

--

Michael A. Tennant - Entrepreneur, Speaker, Author
Curiosity Lab

Author of The Power of Empathy, and the creator of Actually Curious™ the empathy game, Values Exercise™, the Five Phases of Empathy™.