Leading From Empathy: Exploring Healing Alongside Our Mothers

--

Turning discussion on mental health and trauma into bonding with our mothers.

Mom and me in Jamaica sometime in the 80s

Few things are universally true about shared humanity as all life originating from the feminine.

Our relationships to mothers, unite us. Though we seldom give this beautiful truth deep thought, I receive great lessons in empathy when I do.

Our relationships with our mothers shape us. Can it also be that our relationships with ourselves help shape our mothers?

I honor the great privilege that I grew up with a strong, loving, and supportive mother and father.

With my father surviving a brush with life a few years back, and my mother surviving breast cancer in my youth, I am also grateful they are both currently living and thriving.

Mom and Dad after helping me unpack for the Hill School, 1997

I’m in my 30s now and I take keen note to offer my recognition each time a friend, colleague, acquaintance and even stranger shares their grief over losing a parent or loved one.

--

--

Michael A. Tennant - Entrepreneur, Speaker, Author
Curiosity Lab

Author of The Power of Empathy, and the creator of Actually Curious™ the empathy game, Values Exercise™, the Five Phases of Empathy™.