What is the most powerful words?

C.M.Wayne
Curious-Cities
Published in
2 min readOct 27, 2023

I’ve always believed that the most powerful word in the English language is “No.” It’s decisive. Say “Yes, I’d like to lose weight,” and the outcome is probabilistic. But declare “No, I can’t lose weight,” and the result becomes a certainty.

This thought struck me vividly during my pre-army days. As my classmates and I prepared to fulfill our national service obligations, we were exposed to a diverse mix of people from various socio-economic backgrounds. The overarching sentiment? Everyone despised it. Many were on the hunt for system loopholes, hoping to land less physically demanding roles. Those who secured desk jobs immediately became the envy of the rest.

Being a gamer and not exactly the epitome of physical fitness, I was drafted three months before many of my peers. This was an attempt to acclimatize us to training before the fitter group joined. I wasn’t alone in this category. Once, I stumbled upon our section’s physical fitness test results displayed on a whiteboard. Emblazoned across the top was the title “Natural Disaster.” Not a single one of us had passed the six tests. 🤣

However, an offhand conversation during my initial army weeks changed everything. In a rare jovial moment post-exercise, our instructor was “talking cock” (a Singlish slang meaning casual chat) with us. On a whim, I asked, “Sir, which is the highest paying job for an NSF (Full-time National Serviceman)?” He responded, “Commando officer.” Jokingly, I retorted, “Sir, I want to become a commando officer.”

To my astonishment, I found myself selected as an officer cadet trainee. At the time, my primary motivation was the allure of a heftier monthly allowance. Yet, the ensuing ten months proved to be a profound turning point, reshaping my life’s trajectory. The takeaway? Our mindset can be our most potent asset or our biggest hindrance. Dismissing experiences with a “No, this is pointless” renders our mind as unyielding as stone. Conversely, embracing challenges with a “Yes, let’s learn from this” transforms it into a receptive sponge, eager to soak up every lesson.

Life is about perception. As the years go by, I’ve been fortunate to engage with young, vibrant minds through the academy I’m affiliated with. It’s dawned on me that many of my pivotal moments have been ignited by casual, unexpected conversations. This realization has inspired me to chronicle these transformative chats, in hopes of alleviating the concerns of those apprehensive about their upcoming national service — or any of life’s challenges, for that matter. I’ve titled this series “Chat to Changes,” encapsulating my random musings that, I hope, might resonate with some equally random soul out there.

// Chat to Changes — a chronicle of random conversations for those randomly kindred souls out there.

--

--

C.M.Wayne
Curious-Cities
0 Followers
Editor for

Creatives. Game Designer. Entrepreneur. Educator