How I Learnt Touch Typing At The Age Of 27

Siddharth Saxena
3 min readOct 31, 2022

And how you can do it!

I have always been into computers, but only from afar.

A beautiful laptop , but beyond my reach…
Photo by Radek Grzybowski on Unsplash

Thanks to Indian parents who want you to only excel at Mathematics and Science.

But that’s a story for another day!

When I graduated from the country’s topmost medical institute at 25, I always used to bow my head down at the keyboard while working on a laptop or a desktop.

Being a medico myself, I deeply admire coders, both in and out of Netflix, as people who type their way into changing the world (or saving it, maybe?)

Due to many factors, I took a much-needed sabbatical from work after completing my M.B.B.S.

A reader dozed off with the book over their head as cover. A break is needed.
Photo by Tony Tran on Unsplash

I was trying many new things. Many of my programming peers suggested that I would enjoy and do well at coding. They knew me from school. But still, it remained afar.

Why?

Well, I didn’t want to code with a bowed head.

Halfway into my break, I developed the courage to type the magical words into my browser:

“How to learn typing?”

--

--

Siddharth Saxena

Managing Director @Saxena Nursing Home | Doctor | MBBS, AIIMS-D | Mental Health | Writer | Investor | Macroeconomics | Software | Lifestyle