3 Reasons Routines Don’t Work and What You Can Do Instead

Despite the research, routines don’t work well for all of us. Thankfully, there’s an alternative.

Olha Bahaieva
Curious
Published in
7 min readJun 27, 2021

--

woman reads a book
Фото автора Christina Morillo: Pexels

I often hear from coaches that people need to build a daily routine. They say to do particular things every day to increase your health, productivity, or happiness.

Researchers say a daily routine helps you to reach your goals. It’s a way to be consistent and improve your life. Here what they say in their study.

“The degree to which current, naturally occurring, behavior followed a typical routine positively related to participants’ momentary feelings of MIL(meaning of life).”

Samantha J. Heintzelman, Laura A. King in Sage Journals

After reading this study and listening to psychology coaches, I decided to build my first daily routine. If psychologists recommend, maybe it’s a thing I miss, and that’s why I don’t feel so productive?

One day I sat down and created a very detailed plan for each day of my week. There were 12 hours I divided between sleep, cooking, work, and other responsibilities.

--

--

Olha Bahaieva
Curious

Lead UX/UI Designer, Mentor, UXDC Founder • UX/UI Design • Get 100+ UX/UI design tools collection: https://olhabahaieva.ck.page/52893cef89