3 Subtle Signs You’re at the Point of Burnout

The consequences of saying yes to everything

Jerine Nicole
Curious

--

Source

It’s only the third week of January, and I honestly feel like I’m at the point of burnout.

I’m off my travel nursing job, but I’m doing a bunch of small things on the side:

  • freelance writing
  • dental nursing
  • agency nursing
  • YouTube
  • personal writing projects

I have this habit of saying yes to everything when I see my empty calendar.

I’ve always been like this, but for some reason, this time, it’s different. It feels unsustainable, and it’s unhealthy.

So if you feel more than overwhelmed, you’re probably at the point of exhaustion or burnout.

Here are 3 signs of them.

Inability to breathe well

I’ve been an Emergency room nurse at the peak of the pandemic.

I’ve experienced stressful situations. But never in my life I’ve experienced difficulty breathing from thinking about how much work I need to do.

Even though there’s nothing emergency happening right in front of me, I can feel all the deadlines creeping up in my body.

--

--

Jerine Nicole
Curious

Part-time nurse, part-time writer. I write stories about how I explore life to inspire others. Insights on intentional living: jerinenicole.substack.com