3 Ways To Quiet Your Mind In A Noisy, Chaotic World

You don’t have to rely on meditation

Barry Davret
Curious

--

Licensed from Shutterstock // Fizkes

It was 1 AM, and the noise wouldn’t stop. It crept into our bedroom — the tapping of a hammer against a pipe in a rhythmic but disjointed pattern, just loud enough to prevent us from falling asleep. For the third time, I went downstairs to pinpoint the source and again found no answers.

Desperate to do something, I shut off the main water valve. By some miracle, the rattling ceased. Relief. A plumber came the next morning, diagnosed the problem, and fixed it.

That persistent rattling reminded me of the noise that now permeates our minds. It’s not a pounding drum-banging noise, just a soft rattle caused by the constant drip of crisis and vitriol. No valve will turn it off, and no plumber can fix it.

For some, meditation has provided a path to quiet their minds. But for others, like me, it has only dialed up the angst. My last and final go at it ended when I chucked a pair of headphones at the wall and deleted the app from my phone. Twenty minutes a day for six months, and all it did was mimic the effect of a caffeine IV drip.

Fortunately, other options exist. Over the last few years, I’ve been experimenting with tools to quiet my mind, and have experienced some success. The past few months…

--

--

Barry Davret
Curious

Work in Forge | Elemental | BI | GMP | Others | Contact: barry@barry-davret dot com. Join Medium for full access: https://barry-davret.medium.com/membership