4 Tips to Abandon Your Toxic Time Frame Thinking

Annual thinking is ruining all your goals.

Cosmin Angheluta
Curious

--

Photo by Markus Winkler from Pexels

Do you still remember your new year’s resolutions? Like, all of them, specifically?

I don’t. I never did and never will. Not because I don’t have any goals for this year, but I am not in the same situation I was 6 months ago.

What changed?

I did, my goals did, and so my strategy to complete them. This year, I abandoned the annual time frame I used to track my goals in favor of an easier and more successful one.

Why is annual thinking wrong?

In 2020, a study led by Strava showed that the majority of the new year’s resolutions failed in the first twenty days of the same year. The survey was performed on 800 million user inputs, and the 19th of January ironically gained the name of Quitter’s Day.

Last November, after reading the news, I checked how my goals were performing, and I discovered I accomplished only 20% of them. Deluded, I asked myself why I was working so poorly? And I found at least 4 reasons why annual time frame thinking is wrong on so many levels.

I will call those reasons excuses.

Excuse #1 — Annual Time Frame Thinking Makes you Feel

--

--

Cosmin Angheluta
Curious

I build weekly challenges, ideas, Notion templates, and tracking infographics to become the best version of yourself @ cosmopolitanmindset.substack.com