4 Traits of a Long-Term Successful Relationship

It lies in your day-to-day actions

Jerine Nicole
Curious

--

Photo: Wright Brand Bacon

Ever since I’ve started writing online, my partner has asked me to write an article about him. Not about us, but about him. Not in a selfish way, but in a cute-funny way. He’s the most selfless human being you’ll meet. He will do anything and everything for the people around him, even if it meant that he sacrificed his own needs.

We used to fight about this all the time. I’ve told him plenty of times to stop saying yes to everyone. He’s gotten better at it, but not as much. Because he’s so selfless, it’s become my job to make sure that he takes care of himself. Sometimes, in a naggy way, but it’s for his own good.

We’ve been together for nine years and will be getting married this year. Since we started dating from high school, we’ve been through the worst and best times. I don’t believe in destinies, and I’m not sure if I believe in soul mates. What I do believe is that love is hard work.

Since then, I’ve learned a thing or two about what love looks like.

You respect each others’ differences

He’s an introvert, and I’m an extrovert. He likes staying up until 04:00 am, but I love sleeping early, at 10:00 pm. He doesn’t like trying new food, and I would order…

--

--

Jerine Nicole
Curious

Part-time nurse, part-time writer. I write stories about how I explore life to inspire others. Insights on intentional living: jerinenicole.substack.com