4 Ways Manipulators Use Kindness as a Weapon

#3 — They use it as a disarming tactic

Barry Davret
Curious

--

Photo by Derick McKinney on Unsplash

Did a liquor store cashier exploit me with her kindness? I still don’t know. The exchange started when she scanned my bottle of wine. Instead of asking for payment, she sized me up, staring at me for a long second before asking to see my ID.

She glanced at it and then back up at me, perhaps confused by my mask.“No way,” she said. “You’re forty-nine? That can’t be right. I would have guessed thirty-two.”

“Thank you,” I said. “You’re my new best friend.”

She laughed as she rang me up. “Oh, we have a special for the cabernet on display behind you. Grab a bottle? Why not two?”

I followed her instructions, almost reflexively, adding two bottles to my purchase.

I’d like to think her compliment about my youthful appearance had nothing to do with her upsell. But I can’t say for sure because kindness, in all its forms, can serve as a useful tool for manipulators to persuade you, control you, or take from you. It works for two reasons:

  1. It’s difficult to distinguish genuine kindness from its manipulative counterpart.
  2. Even when we do recognize inauthentic niceties, we still feel an urge to respond in kind. There’s an old saying, “It’s hard…

--

--

Barry Davret
Curious

Work in Forge | Elemental | BI | GMP | Others | Contact: barry@barry-davret dot com. Join Medium for full access: https://barry-davret.medium.com/membership