5 Reasons Not to Live in London

Or any other capital city

Eliza Lita
Curious

--

Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament in London, with a view of the Thames
Photo by Eva Dang on Unsplash

London is overrated. So is probably any other capital city in the world, unless you have a lot of money to make sure you can live comfortably. I learned about the ugliest aspects of my London dream, turned nightmare, at the worst possible time of my life. But, in retrospect, it was better to find out earlier than later why London was not for me.

Almost four years ago I made what would become the most disastrous decision of my life. And thank God I managed to undo it. I was 19 when I moved to London from across Europe. I was alone, about to start my degree, and entirely oblivious as to how much I would struggle because of the very city I thought would offer me everything I could ever need.

London is like a little pearl wrapped in too much brown packaging and shared by too many people

My London-based university was not my first choice. Far from it. But I went there thinking “well, it’s London, what can go wrong?”. The campus was on the Thames, it was beautiful, large, looked promising, and modern. It was all fun and games until I had to go to the supermarket to buy some food and homeware. That’s when I realised I’d made a monumental mistake.

--

--

Eliza Lita
Curious

ADHD, books, writing, fitness, lifestyle. | Founder and editor: Coffee Time Reviews. | Library Mouse | Language nerd.