5 Things I Wish I Knew Before Moving to a New Country in 2022

#5 Make connections, but not only with locals.

Yana Bekh
Curious
5 min readDec 24, 2022

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio on Pexels

Since childhood, I had the dream of moving to another country.

I used to look at photos of different countries and study the culture and mentality of people to choose the most suitable country for life. However, even after taking a few trips to such countries, I could not avoid making the mistakes and difficulties I faced after moving.

Two years ago, I packed my whole life into one suitcase and bought a one-way ticket. As a cautious person, I read advice from those who moved before me, but I found that many of these tips either didn’t work or were misleading.

My adaptation took longer and cost me many months of difficulties. Now I will share with you 5 pieces of advice that I wish I knew two years ago (and how I would’ve applied them).

1. When it comes to moving to another country, social media is your best friend

Probably you heard this phrase many times “research the country before you go.”

This means not only reading on the Internet or watching YouTube videos about this country but finding people who have moved there and talking to them. It can be your friends or even people from Facebook.

I can assure you that every country has a Facebook page where not only locals but people from your country share valuable information, problems they face today, work advice, and more.

Facebook groups of English speakers in Austria/Vienna

When it comes to moving to a new country, social media is a treasure of knowledge and help.

If I had followed this group before moving, many things would have gone more smoothly. For example, in the group, you’d find out which city is best for immigrants, advice on taxes in the country, and basic assistance in obtaining insurance or contacting a good doctor.

Believe me, I have found answers to many of my questions on such groups.

2. You might end up spending more than you thought

You may have already calculated everything and that’s great, but there are always unmentioned taxes or bills and maybe this was not included in your calculations.

For example, in Austria, there’s a “dog tax” that dog owners have to pay tax every year. Also, insurance doesn’t cover emergency assistance which can cost up to thousands of euros.

It could’ve been a good idea to start working as soon as I moved, rather than waiting for a high-paying job opportunity. Even working 10 hours a week helps financially and also allows you to make connections that may help you find future employment or make new friends.

My first job was in gastronomy. While it was not always easy, it helped me make friends, gain work experience that I could use to get better job opportunities, pay my bills, and improve my language skills. Also, my insurance was always paid by my employer.

3. Learn the local language (in advance)

Although it may be standard advice for those who are moving, it is extremely important to consider learning the local language.

Even if you only know a few basic phrases, it can greatly aid in communication with locals and facilitate exploring your new surroundings. I already wrote an article on how I overcame my fear of speaking a foreign language and I strongly advise you to read it.

Speaking the local language will help you complete the necessary documents, make purchases or go to the doctor.

Not everyone speaks English.

I can’t count how many times people in Austria told me “You have to learn German.” Some may refuse to communicate with you if you don’t speak the local language. Besides, in public transport, you will not even understand that your train or bus is delayed or completely canceled!

4. Don’t be shy. Take action asap

Make sure you have all the necessary documents in order and find out about any healthcare or insurance requirements.

It’s also a good idea to set up a bank account and find a place to live before you arrive. Communicate with people. Your acquaintances will double your chances of finding a place to live, and can also help you with the necessary documents (after all, they have already gone through this process before).

Remember that most people will help you if you ask for help.

Due to my shyness and poor knowledge of the language, I sometimes missed the opportunity to ask for details or advice on where to get certain documents or about a possible scholarship at your university, which was not on the university’s website because the registration was through an agency.

People are more likely to help you when you ask for it.

Even if someone can’t help you, you can ask another person. Be social and don’t be afraid to ask questions.

5. Make connections, but not only with locals

Building a social network in your new country can help you feel more connected and supported.

Look for groups or meetups, or try joining local clubs or organizations. Remember that you don’t have to connect only with locals. I read many times advice from other people “to integrate faster, refuse to communicate with people from your country and communicate only with locals.”

Nonsense.

You can chat with locals, yes, but, they will not be able to help you with the things you face as a foreigner since they have never had those issues.

They have no idea of what documents you need and where to go.

I asked locals many times about certain documents and where to apply, and they always, with surprise and sincere indignation, did not understand why I needed such things because they are not required to do it.

It’s the same with language. Yes, you can practice with them, but they won’t explain the grammar to you or give you advice on how to remember the words because they didn’t learn the language as foreigners.

If I had received these tips before I moved, I’m sure that it would’ve been easier for me. I am happy to share them with you and sincerely hope this will help you one day ;)

--

--