5 Things Most People Get Wrong About Trauma

Little “t” trauma may not be so little, after all.

Julia Christina
Curious

--

Photo by Silvestri Matteo on Unsplash

If you asked me a few years ago if I had any trauma, I would’ve politely declined.

Now, three years, 12 Ayahuasca ceremonies, countless breathwork sessions, a 10-day silent retreat and hours of parts work therapy later, I know better.

Of course, I have trauma.

Why else would I be stuck in the loop of addiction (in my case, an eating disorder) and battle depression throughout my 20s?

As I went through my healing process and educated myself, my image of what trauma is and isn’t has evolved a lot.

The word trauma is thrown around so lightly. Yet, it truly impacts so many people. Not everyone has trauma, but a lot more people do than they think.

Below are five of the most common misconceptions about trauma.

Trauma Is What Happened to You

The most common thing people get wrong about trauma is that they believe trauma is defined by what happened to you.

Incorrect.

Trauma isn’t what happened to you but how you responded to it.

--

--

Julia Christina
Curious

Exploring consciousness, psychedelics, and healing. Join the journey at juliachristina.substack.com.