7 Overlooked Signs You’re Living an Extraordinary Life

2. You’re slightly embarrassed by your past

Barry Davret
Curious

--

Licensed from Shutterstock // Frantic00

A former mentor of mine once diagnosed why I felt so disgusted with my life. At the time, my net worth hovered close to zero, but he claimed that money had little to do with my self-loathing.

It made sense. A few years earlier, I had been swimming in cash, and still felt unsatisfied. My mentor described my issue as the “little bit more obsession.” The self-talk that accompanies it should sound familiar, even if you’ve never spoken it.

I don’t want much, I just want a bit more.

For most of my life, I measured my self-worth by shallow metrics like income, job title, possessions, and zip code. But even when I hit some of those targets, my mentor’s assessment proved right. When I got what I wanted, I always craved just a bit more.

It would take another ten years to learn the lesson, but I realized that living an extraordinary life has nothing to do with your job title, bank account, or how much fame you achieve.

It’s these seven qualities that define an extraordinary life, and if you live by a few of them, you’re doing damn well.

1. You’ve made or kept a character commitment.

--

--

Barry Davret
Curious

Work in Forge | Elemental | BI | GMP | Others | Contact: barry@barry-davret dot com. Join Medium for full access: https://barry-davret.medium.com/membership