7 Reasons Why Jerry Seinfeld Should Be Your Rabbi

For a stand-up comedian that had a show about nothing, he’s like a Jewish ninja with words

Kevin Swan
Curious

--

shutterstock.com

There is nothing more awkward and uncomfortable than watching a stand-up comedian bomb on stage. The comedian knows it’s happening. The audience is definitely aware of it. Unlike any other type of live entertainment, it’s strangely intimate. Perhaps that’s why when it’s done well, it feels so damn good! For a guy that’s had a terminal diagnosis for eight years, I can tell you that no one has provided better medicine than Jerry Seinfeld.

Like most humans, I was a huge fan of arguably the greatest sitcom of all time. Like so many children of the 80’s it wasn’t until the show was in syndication in 1999, that the show’s brilliance was so obvious to me.

Cut to 15-year old me — What the hell does “sponge worthy” even mean?

I moved to NYC in the summer of 2004 weeks after college graduation. So many of my preconceived notions of the city were directly tied to the sitcom. I grew up in Florida and went to college in Arizona. I wasn’t as lucky as Seinfeld to grow up on Long Island. I was obsessed with the energy that NYC seemed to exude.

Maybe that’s what’s bellowing out of every manhole?

--

--

Kevin Swan
Curious

Razor sharp wit with a beautiful wife, a cute kid, and ALS. Founded A Life Story Foundation. I type with my EYES!