7 Unconventional Lessons I Learnt from My 7-Year Relationship

I wasn’t prepared for this reality of what actually being in a relationship feels like

Anggun Bawi
Curious

--

Image by pikisuperstar on Freepik

We’ll hit the 7th-year mark in our relationship in a week.

Sometimes we’d talk and say to each other,

“I honestly don’t know how we did it”.

It’s an interracial relationship with many many cultural differences and on top of that, a long distance

/sigh/

Despite all of that, I still learn new things every year. It’s not just about our relationship but also about myself and life.

1. A breakup is better if you don’t have shared goals and values

Yes, I said it right there.

Many are so afraid to walk away from an unhappy long-term relationship not knowing it’s already dead. To think that somehow you still can save it will only make you suffer more.

Being in a relationship won’t necessarily remove your problems or make your life 10x better. Its purpose is to make your life more meaningful. Because you have someone to share memories with: the good and the bad.

--

--

Anggun Bawi
Curious

writing on trauma, dating and relationships - in the hope that you'll feel less alone on your journey | lives in vancouver 🇨🇦