Casual Conversation: The Evolution of the Dating App

Omar Zahran
Curious
Published in
9 min readAug 4, 2020

--

Heart made out of binary code
Image Credit: Alexander Sinn via Unsplash

There are days in our adult lives that just have more meaning than others. Days that we look back on and think fondly of. These days could be for personal advancement or where a good time was had. For me, a day that will always resonate with me is June 29, 2019. This was the day where one of my best friends got married and I had the privilege to be one of his groomsmen. This was one of the greatest experiences in my adult life, one filled with so much happiness and joy. Yet it was not a feeling that I ever thought I would experience in my life.

Throughout my life, I have been to many weddings. Weddings here in the United States and some overseas when I lived in Jordan. As I am not much of a dancer, as my friends have constantly pointed out to me, they never really seemed like my cup of tea. Every time I would receive a wedding invitation I would dread having to respond to it, but when I was asked to be a groomsman I thought that this will be a different experience. And it was a great one at that. As a year has passed since that date, I think about my friend’s relationship and marriage. He met his wife like a lot of people met their spouses these days: through a dating app. Their success story got me to thinking about how the landscape of dating apps has changed over the last decade from a shameful way to meet people to a new way to connect with people…

--

--

Omar Zahran
Curious

Freelance sports writer fascinated by the stories that our favorite teams and athletes present to us