Productivity | Work

Coffee Is the Greatest Productivity Enhancer I’ve Ever Discovered

But not in the way you might think.

Tim Denning
Curious
Published in
5 min readAug 12, 2021

--

Your energy drives your productivity.

It’s no wonder coffee is seen as a cheat code to being more productive. But there’s a downside. Over time our bodies can build up a resistance to coffee. The productivity superpower can then be severely limited.

Most people, including me, overdo coffee. I’ve found a better approach to coffee you can use that helps me do some of the best work of my life.

Your Mind on Coffee

Michael Pollan wrote the book “This Is Your Mind On Plants.” In an interview, he shared his experience of quitting coffee for three months after Roland Griffiths, a leading expert on caffeine, said, “You’ll never understand your relationship to caffeine until you get off it.”

What came next was unexpected. Michael says, “One of the most powerful drug experiences I’ve had in my life was the first cup of coffee after three months off. It was psychedelic. It was incredible.”

I’d never heard of coffee being thought of as psychedelic.

Coffee alters consciousness. Michael says it “felt like there was this vail between me and…

--

--

Tim Denning
Curious

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb