Does Mindful Meditation Improve Creativity?

Neuroscience disagrees, but there is a catch.

Pen Magnet
Curious

--

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

Two decades ago, I went through the loneliest phase of my life.

Physically, nothing was wrong. I was promoted in my tech career. I was earning more in a peaceful American town. Barnes and Noble’s bookshop was within walkable distance. I was experimenting with my newfound passion for self-help writing.

This was the life I had yearned for years, and finally, I had it.

But I was growing lonely. My first & only self-published book had bombed, partly due to my lack of industry research and mostly due to poor writing I immediately loathed past publishing it.

My family held me in high regard, but among peers, I felt I was worthless.

Social media was almost non-existent in those days. Googling your psychological dilemma wasn’t a thing yet.

The bigger problem was, I didn’t know what to google.

Meditation, They Said:

My estranged friends left me with generic “get active, make new connections” advice.

My past mentors were wiser. They suggested meditation.

“It’s your emotions that are getting better of you. You need some dusting off.”

--

--

Pen Magnet
Curious

Author of Comprehensive Approach to Senior Developer Interview), Startup writer, Programmer, Tech Career Blogger, Education Engagement Enthusiast