Photo by Angela Bailey on Unsplash

Five Illusions I Had to Dispel That Helped Me Worry Less and Experience More Freedom

Want less anxiety? Dispel these silly notions.

Anthony Moore
Published in
7 min readJan 28, 2022

--

It’s not easy to accept life on life’s terms. It’s far easier to remain ignorant in bliss, not knowing how the sausage gets made.

For a long time, I believed many illusions about people, jobs, my life, and the world. For years, I experienced terrible anxiety, confusion, and never-ending worry about how things would all work out, and stress when things didn’t go according to plan.

Through many years of therapy, trying and failing, and going around the block a few times, I learned that I had been believing in several illusions that simply weren’t true.

They were hard truths to accept. But once I did, I started feeling far less worry and anxiety about people, the world, and my future.

Here are five illusions I had to dispel that helped me worry less and start experiencing more freedom.

Illusion #1: You Are in Control

The truth: you are not in control.

One of the great illusions of life is the false belief that we are in control: we manipulate and tweak the world around us to be the way we prefer.

--

--

Anthony Moore
Curious

Writer for CNBC, Business Insider, Fast Company, Thought Catalog, Yahoo! Finance, and you.