Happy Coder

Three Principles that will make your job fun again.

Peter Makes Websites
Curious

--

Lately, I’ve been seeing a lot of content from people working in IT fields who are suffering from depression and burnout.

I’d like to share something rather simple and succinct but something I’ve found tremendously helpful for myself and something I wish I knew earlier.

I’m going to describe this using three principles, but it’s really just three ways of looking at the same thing.

Take what’s helpful to you and leave the rest…

At the end of the article, I’ll describe a practical example (I call it coding frustration) of how this all comes together to make your life better.

The Joy of the Human Experience

Whenever we first join a company, a new team, we (generally) feel happy, excited. But soon after, the joy wears off and it becomes rather boring. As you no doubt are familiar with, this is the same with most things in life.

We have a honeymoon phase and it wears off. Not only does it wear off and become boring, sometimes it becomes downright painful and feels like a burden.

And so we end up seeking some relief, some fun, some joy. What I’m sharing in this article I hope will help you bring out the fun and the lightheartedness that was once present.

Look how much he is enjoying his coding — you can too!

--

--

Peter Makes Websites
Curious
Writer for

Sharing my experience of web & app development with the world