How I Learned to Manage Multiple Interests without Going Insane

It’s all about the tiny actions you take regularly

Adete Dahiya
Curious

--

Growing up, one person I was completely fascinated with was Leonardo Da Vinci. I was 13 when I found out that being one of the world’s most famous artists was just one of his many attributes. He was also a mathematician, a scientist, a philosopher, and he made discoveries on everything from anatomy to engineering!

That came as quite a surprise! How could he be following all these different interests? How was he so successful as an artist when that wasn’t the only thing he was doing? Weren’t we always told to stick to one path and one path only?

“Jack of all trades, master of none,” my father would tell me repeatedly. It wasn’t until very recently that I found out this wasn’t the complete saying. The actual saying goes like this:

Jack of all trades is a master of none but is oftentimes better than a master of one.

My brain did a double dive! By this point I had already gone against the conventional wisdom of sticking to doing just one thing. Reading this quote, however, cemented my belief further and brought a smile to my face.

--

--

Adete Dahiya
Curious

Sharing ideas on how to live & work better | Writer & artist pursuing MA in Psychology I Subscribe to read more: www.adete.co/newsletter