How to Accept Your Needy Self

It’s Okay, We’re All Needy, We Just Don’t Know How To Accept It

Jessi on the Internet
Curious
Published in
5 min readJan 19, 2021

--

Twitter: @data.cq

It’s Tuesday morning. You may not have noticed because these days in isolation, the days and weeks blur together like something out of a viewfinder. The conversation around self-love and self-acceptance has circulated this year with great ferocity. Self-help is a new genre topping the Barnes & Nobles list of most read and most recommended books. But having this obsession with self and the need to explore it, is kind of needy right? Can’t we just accept we’re needy without having to self-help our way out of it?

Oddly enough, being needy for the last 29 years of my life, I’ve been called needy just as much as I’ve thought myself as such. While it is obvious now that many people turn to self-help directions in a crisis, I’m wondering what we’re doing beyond the crisis to address this needy neediness in our culture? I’m not bashing needy people, or the self-help industry, I’m simply stating that we’re all needy, we just don’t know how to fully accept it. Instead, we spend a lot of time trying not to be needy or look for ways where we can self-help our neediness away. Please read on.

You Must Accept That Needy Is A Positive Word

Listen, we’re all needy at one point or another. It’s clear from the amount of Instagram selfies you post, the amount of work you put into work, the song you play on repeat to think about that time or that person from your past. We’ve all been there. It’s not like this year suddenly made everyone self-sufficient, or aware. Personally, I’m proud to state that I’ve become more needy, in a positive way. Perhaps 2020 has made me realize that being needy comes with being sensitive, emotional, a boundless crier. Whatever you are, be needy and be the most positive needy anyone has ever seen. We all want love, support and to be understood. Everything from liking other people’s posts, to the decision to post a selfie, the amount of times we’ve joined dating apps. or group chats, the repetitious act of restarting that song that gets those emotions stirring. Whatever urges you to do this, takes neediness, and you’re better off for it.

Personally, I’ve been called needy by ex-boyfriends alike. I used to see it as a bad trait, something I had to cleanse out of…

--

--