How To Overcome the ‘Taste Gap’ as a Beginner in the Creative Industry

Most people fail because they give up far too early

J.R. Flaherty
Curious

--

Photo by Kirk Morales on Unsplash

In 1983, a thirteen-year-old Dave Grohl snuck into a small bar in Chicago with his elder brother. On stage he saw four punks thrashing fast three-chord music on guitars. About 75 people moshed and crawled all over each other in the audience.

And this changed his life.

By the time he was 14, he says, “All I wanted to do was leave school, jump in a van and tour shitty basement clubs with my punk band.”

He began arranging pillows on his floor. He turned his bed into the formation of a drum set to play the pillows along to his favorite band, Bad Brains.

“I started touring at 18: carrying my stuff in a bag, sleeping on floors, and if I were lucky, I’d get seven dollars a day to budget on cigarettes and Taco Bell. I was open to the experience.”

Today Grohl’s net worth is $320 million dollars. His band Foo Fighters have released seven studio albums with sales high into the tens of millions of copies worldwide. He did well and so did the record company and everyone else associated with him.

When he started playing pillows on his bedroom floor, he didn’t have any aspirations to make a career of it…

--

--