I Drove Out to Cody, Wyoming to Find Kanye West

I’ve been curious about why West chose rural Wyoming as his new home, and I was pleasantly surprised by what I found.

Arjan Writes
Curious
4 min readDec 4, 2020

--

Cody High School

I’ve been out in Montana for the last few months to get away from the Los Angeles frenzy during the pandemic. Montana has been fantastic and I’ve used a lot of my free time to explore the region.

Late October, I decided to head out to Cody, WY to check out Kanye’s new stomping grounds. I’ve been curious about why West chose rural Wyoming as his new home and playground. I made the three-hour drive from Bozeman, Montana, and was pleasantly surprised by what I found.

As a pop fan, I’ve always admired Kanye West for the way he has pushed his music in exciting new directions. More recently, I’ve been intrigued by the headlines he has stirred. His struggle with mental illness, his half-baked presidential bid, and his last two gospel albums have made me very curious about what drives his artistic instincts. I watched his Joe Rogan interview a couple of times to try to make sense of his seemingly random and grandiose rants. (I still have a lot of questions about that interview but it was pretty fascinating to see how his mind works in real-time.)

I understand some of Kanye’s opinions are controversial and even offensive, but I also believe he’s often misguided. Kanye has a purity of thought that only a few artists have. I feel that for every ten ideas he spouts, there’s one idea that’s brilliant. His views on farming, sustainability, and igloo living for example seem far-fetched but are totally within reach.

Cody’s Main Street

Cody, WY is a small and quiet town. It is quite literally in the middle of nowhere. To get to Cody, you have to use local roads that often lack cellphone reception for long stretches at a time.

The town is also the Eastern gateway to Yellowstone National Park — the first national park established by President Roosevelt in the early twentieth century. Many tourists pass through Cody during the summer peak season to visit the park. There are many small motels, campgrounds and RV parks where you can find a comfortable, quick stay. The most upscale hotel in the Cody area is a Best Western just a stone’s throw from the local Walmart Supercenter.

Buffalo Bill Center of the West in Cody, WY

Cody was named after William “Buffalo Bill” Cody, an “American frontiersman and showman” in the late 19th century. He was quite an eccentric character who started out as an army soldier but then moved into entertainment with his traveling Buffalo Bill Wild West Show to amuse audiences all over the American West. Bill Cody and Kanye West seem like kindred spirits.

West has a couple of large properties in the greater Cody area, including West Lake ranch just south of Alkali Lake. The artist worked here on much of his Jesus Is King album, and you may have seen parts of the ranch in his filmed interview with Apple Music’s Zane Lowe, plus the ranch is featured in the music videos for “Follow God” and “Closed On Sunday.”

I drove by the West Lake ranch, which is well-guarded but can be seen from the road. You can also clearly spot some of the dome homes that West built to experiment with alternative forms of housing.

Cody Enterprise paper from November 1, 2020

Cody is a peaceful place. Magical even. Especially when the sun sets on a cold fall day — when the sky turns from dark blue to dark purple to a starry clear night. I’m not surprised that Kanye finds solace and inspiration here.

I never got to see Kanye on my trip to Cody but I did find a local newspaper that makes mention of his presidential bid. Local residents are proud of their new neighbor.

Cody may not be known for its pulsing nightlife or easy access to an international airport, but if you’re looking for an escape and make your way to the majestic Yellowstone National Park, a stop in Cody, WY is warranted. And with a bit of luck you may even run into Kanye. Word from the locals is that there’s a good chance you’ll find him at Cody Steak House on Main Street.

--

--