I Want It to Be Okay for Women to Ask out Men on Dates

We’re still a little too behind in this area.

Tara Blair Ball
Curious
Published in
4 min readJul 9, 2021

--

I was a senior in high school the first time I asked out a guy. I was so desperate to kiss and be kissed. My body felt combustible. I wanted to be claimed, staked, for someone to announce, “She’s my girlfriend.”

But my first experience in asking out a guy led to finding out that he’d told his friends, “She’s really cool, but if I dated her, my friends would make fun of me.”

I did ask out men many times after that, but I always felt uncomfortable, bracing for another humiliation for trying to go after what I wanted.

Even though it’s 2021, the data doesn’t agree on whether increased gender equality is catching up to our dating life.

In the results of the survey below, only 15% of men reported they would like to be asked out while only 7% of women said they would ask a man out.

Source: Mills, Janiszewska & Zabala

But, in another survey, 90% of men reported that they support women making the first move while 15% of women said they would make the first move.

--

--

Tara Blair Ball
Curious

Certified Relationship Coach, Author, and Podcast Co-host for Breaking Free from Narcissistic Abuse. https://beacons.page/tara.relationshipcoach