I Went to Therapy: Why You Deserve to Go As Well

Only You Are Responsible For Helping Yourself

Jason Vu Nguyen
Curious

--

Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

As a British Asian male, I was convinced I didn’t need therapy. Culture and society made me feel like my internal problems didn’t need to be discussed with a professional. In British culture, there is this focus on individualism and silent strength. Asking for help seemed like a weakness. In Asian culture, mental health is not openly discussed, you are merely “sad” and there is a stigma of bringing shame upon your family’s reputation. In both cultures, I was told not to cry, feelings should be swept under the rug and emotions stamped out.

I would tell myself that the ups and downs were normal, and the bad stretches were situational. Navigating adult life, failed relationships and overcoming work-related stress, were all a normal part of life.

In the grand scheme of things, I was okay. I should just deal with it. I believed I would be fine on my own. My view was that only people with “problems” go to therapy.

This worked for a while. Until it didn’t.

I was struggling. Tired of all the anxiety, built-up stress and ruminations of my self-worth, I took my first steps to seek out therapy. I was apprehensive at first. I would fill in my application but submit it. Eventually, I realised it…

--

--