I Will Do the Right Thing, and I Will Be Extremely Bitter About It

When the systems have failed you, personal responsibility is hard.

Devon Price
Curious
Published in
7 min readOct 20, 2020

--

Photo by Kobby Mendez on Unsplash.

Winter is descending upon Chicago, and all my quarantine coping mechanisms are dying like the leaves. The skies are gray and a cool slick wetness covers everything. The coffee shop patio I sat at all summer is closed. Now when I try to sit outside, my joints get stiff and a chill rapidly seeps into my core. The lake is frigid. The parks are muddy and devoid of people.

To share a drink in the backyard with a couple of friends, I need a parka and layers of blankets. To find privacy I have to hide at the topmost floor of my apartment’s dusty stairwell. To get any work done I have to brave a bus dotted with unmasked people, and ride it eight miles south to my ghost town of an office.

It’s only open once per week, my office, and technically I don’t need to be there. Going downtown is an unnecessary risk. An extravagance I might not deserve. Yet I brave it every week, I look forward to it actually, because it’s the only place where I can focus on my little meaningless work tasks and pretend to be a human with an imaginable future.

Lucky, I’m so lucky; I have an office, but I don’t have to visit it if I don’t want to. I have an safe apartment and a…

--

--

Devon Price
Curious

He/Him or It/Its. Social Psychologist & Author of LAZINESS DOES NOT EXIST and UNMASKING AUTISM. Links to buy: https://linktr.ee/drdevonprice