Productivity

Life Is a Road Trip, Not a Drag Race

When to stop and enjoy the view

Ryan M. Danks
Curious
Published in
3 min readMar 1, 2021

--

You’ve been burning the candle at both ends chasing those goals, haven’t you? I know what it’s like. When I get into something that inspires me, I become a machine.

Eventually, though, I crash and burn on the side of the road. It’s epic when it happens, often involving bar hopping and binge-watching Netflix until I forget what I even wanted out of this life.

Everything that burns will eventually burn out.

There is life between those extremes — a middle road between hustle and burnout. It’s important to find this road because everything that burns will eventually burn out.

When you find that road, don’t drag race on it. Treat it as a neverending road trip. You reach one milestone, take a break to fill up on fuel, then continue onto another one.

Stop and smell the roses? Are you serious?

I can hear you screaming at me:

There’s no stopping! I only have one life and I’m wasting time. I need to hustle hard and get after it!

Let’s not get it twisted; the hustle is important. Sometimes, to get to the next town on your trip, you…

--

--

Ryan M. Danks
Curious

Adventurer • Writer • Lover of coffee and good stories // ryanmdanks.com