My Grandma Jumped Out of a Moving Car at My Age

Why should I be scared about finding a job?

Eliza Lita
Curious

--

A grandmother with her granddaughter, hugging
My grandma and I. Picture provided by the author.

Whenever I get anxious about graduating and having to fully throw myself on the work market, I think of that time my grandma jumped out of a moving car. She was in her early 20s like I am right now and literally jumped on the side of the road from a speeding car passing through a forest.

She’d just met my grandpa and he came with some male friends to pick her up and take her on a date. His friends were from a rich family and had a car, whereas he didn’t. This was the early 70s in Communist Romania. While driving her home, suddenly one of my grandpa’s friends decided it would be fun to make a turn and take my grandma home to my grandpa’s, which would have been unacceptable at the time.

Being the daredevil that he was (there are many such stories starring my grandpa), he threatened to jump out of the car if his friend didn’t take my grandma home as intended. They didn’t believe him and kept driving on the wrong route. Which is when my grandpa jumped. My grandma, terrified of being left alone with two relatively unknown men, didn’t think twice.

She jumped too.

They were bruised and scratched, but thankfully, nothing more serious happened to them. Then, he took her home safely and never asked…

--

--

Eliza Lita
Curious

ADHD, books, writing, fitness, lifestyle. | Founder and editor: Coffee Time Reviews. | Library Mouse | Language nerd.