Naps: A Procrastinator’s Cop-Out and a Productive’s Go-To

How midday shut-eye can be a tool for some and a travesty for others.

Corey Fradin
Curious

--

Photo by zhang kaiyv on Unsplash

The words stared at me. Or rather, I stared at them. Unblinking. With heavy eyes and a foggy brain, there was no way I was going to get my reading done this afternoon. I placed the book down on the table beside me. In its stead, I grabbed my phone. Bypassing the lock screen, I opened the timer app and set the clock for 30 minutes. My head hit the pillow and I was out.

The alarm went off. Awakening from the fog, I grabbed my phone and silenced the noise. I was conscious but groggy. So before returning to my work, I opted for a nice procrastinatory lounge around the internet. Gradually, my brain came back online, and with it, my remembrance of everything I still needed to do for the day.

I got up, miraculously, and went to my computer. Though still a little slow, though a tad fatigued, the nap had done its job. The thick layer of malaise had been removed and I was now free to roam about the cabin. But what of the book I was reading? I simply updated my schedule and resumed it later that day.

This Article Is Sponsored by the Nap I Just Took

--

--