One Incident I Can’t Help But Attribute to Karma

Good luck? Karma? Was this pure coincidence or something else?

Gracia Kleijnen
Curious
Published in
5 min readOct 22, 2020

--

White woman with long brown hair sitting at table looking into the camera wearing a black, hooded sweater.
Photo by christian ferrer on Unsplash

Prague, Czech Republic is a short four-hour bus ride away from Berlin, Germany. The last and only time I visited this city was a decade ago on a high school trip. The Czech korunas I didn’t spend then, I kept in an envelope as a prized possession (pun intended), and for the “next time” when I’d revisit the place.

Years ago, yearning for a short getaway, I considered doing a “bitpacking trip” as I like to call them. It meant finding a destination that was easy to reach and located close-by enough to travel there within several hours. I opted for Prague.

A mental reset and near-instant change of scenery can be found without traveling to the other side of the world. I typically travel with a medium-sized backpack and sleep in a hostel dorm or on an acquaintance’s couch or spare mattress, just like on this trip.

Once in Prague, I wandered over cobbled paths overlooking picturesque bridges connecting the two banks of the Vltava river. When on vacation, I lay out a very rough itinerary, but I never mind deviating from the plan. To lose myself in an inviting and colorful side alley, or to grab a hot drink in a bustling cafe that appeared out of nowhere. Maybe to have a spontaneous…

--

--

Gracia Kleijnen
Curious
Writer for

Google Sheets & comic creator. Words on productivity, self-development, relationships & mental health in 49+ pubs. 2x Author. https://linktr.ee/graciakleijnen