One Question to Lessen Anxiety & Create a Firehose of Inspiration

This question changed my life

Francis Nayan
Curious

--

Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

Over the last year, I’ve struggled with a fair amount of anxiety.

It’d typically come and go, but every time it came back, it was always a little stronger than before. Nothing crippling until I let it go unnoticed or untreated.

The majority of my anxiety came from work, which is where I think many people’s anxiety comes from. Constant buzzes, pings, and need-to-answer-now messages repeatedly add fuel to the fire.

I like to consider myself a pretty self-aware person, so when I thought about how I rarely felt this kind of anxiety and pressure earlier in my career, I wanted to know why.

You see, as you grow in your career, you get new and exciting opportunities. And you’re encouraged to try new things, work with more prominent clients, and play in the “big leagues.”

That kind of excitement can be blinding for you like it was for me. I found myself saying “yes” to new work, just because I was excited. I thought I was succeeding…

But then, I accidentally grew a stable of clients that weren’t my style.

These clients would ping me regularly, ask me to get on calls late at night, send 5–6 different people to…

--

--

Francis Nayan
Curious

Former addict turned lifestyle freelance copywriter. 25+ countries. $10m sold. Writing on mindset, digital nomadism, and freelancing ➡️ thenomadnewsletter.com